Student Government Association

The Upward Bound SGA is an important part of the program, providing leadership experience to those students involved. SGA responsibilities include being an active member of the program, providing feedback to the director of programs, providing assistance to the education specialists, recruitment, displaying commitment and interest in the program, being a positive role model for other students, and ensuring the integrity of the Upward Bound SGA constitution. The SGA consists of a president, vice president, secretary, and six senators. All elected officers and senators will sign a contract with the director of programs.

Members (2020/2021)

President: DJ Nyberg

Vice President: Trevor Hembree

Secretary: Amanda Hall

Senators: Lisbet Olivos (Grainger High), Trevor Mcpeek (Cherokee High), Amber Atkins (Scott High), Destiny Morrison (Coalfield School), Julie McFadden (Sunbright School).

Upward Bound is funded by the U.S. Department of Education & sponsored by Douglas-Cherokee Economic Authority Inc.